An Idea?

22 Apr

Hello,

I’ve had this idea for quite sometime, but now I’m actually considering going through with this.

I really want to start a blog for black women and femininity. For too long black women have been stigmatized as unfeminine, masculine, ungraceful, promiscuous, etc.

I wouldn’t be talking about African American women specifically, namely because I’m mixed and my parents are immigrants from the Caribbean (I wouldn’t feel qualified), but I still feel that no matter where a women of color is from she still has that stigma attached to her.

So, when I say black, I’m reaching out to all women of color, nationality aside. Other women who are not black are welcome as well, since most things that I will discuss will be applicable to all women.

My blog, “lovelyleblanc7”, on the other hand, would be focused on my progression of Β the Japanese language, travel, and other miscellaneous things.

So, what do you all think?

Best regards,

❀ Lovelyleblanc7

22 Responses to “An Idea?”

  1. femininebutnotfeminist April 22, 2014 at 8:37 pm #

    Hey LLB,

    Sounds like a great idea to me πŸ™‚

    I’m almost as white as they come (apart from my great great grandmother being full-blooded Cherokee, but that was too long ago to really make much of a difference) and even I can see the stigma that women of color face, even as a complete outsider to it. I think you should totally do it πŸ™‚

    • lovelyleblanc7 April 22, 2014 at 9:04 pm #

      Thank You! There are so many topics that I want to cover. Time permitting, I might start it this Friday or next week. I would love for you to follow/be a subscriber, like I said, all women are welcome.

      • femininebutnotfeminist April 22, 2014 at 9:24 pm #

        I’m looking forward to it, it sounds very interesting! When you do start it, will you link it here or email it to me or something? I would love to be a follower! *smiles*

      • lovelyleblanc7 April 22, 2014 at 9:36 pm #

        Thank You! I certainly will!

  2. Jenny April 22, 2014 at 8:58 pm #

    If you’d ever like to do a post over at GBG for femininity and black women, we’d love to have your voice.

    • lovelyleblanc7 April 22, 2014 at 9:08 pm #

      Thank You! I would love to, but concerning black women and femininity, it is such a broad subject that I would certainly have to narrow it down to a specific topic.

      Can I contact you via e-mail?

      • Jenny April 22, 2014 at 9:10 pm #

        yes!
        Also, I have thought about asking you this, but it is so weird. I would love for you to write a post about Japanese maternity habits, like what pregnant women eat, and common self-care practices they have before and after pregnancy. I don’t know why that fascinates me, but I don’t know much about it and thought you might.

      • lovelyleblanc7 April 22, 2014 at 9:15 pm #

        I would love to! As a college student, aspiring to be a nurse-midwife/women’s health practitioner and interested in traditional Japanese midwifery(sanba), I actually studied a bit on this subject. Last semester, I also did a paper on international midwifery.
        Oh, I’m so excited! This is one of my favorite subjects, but I never did a post on this because I considered most women would not be interested. Topics on midwifery (concerning Japanese midwifery, pregnancy, etc.) and women’s health, I’m more than glad to write about.

      • Jenny April 22, 2014 at 9:17 pm #

        I love their philosophy about balance so much more than some of our Western ideas. I’ve always wondered how they applied it to women and pregnancy.

      • lovelyleblanc7 April 22, 2014 at 9:23 pm #

        Japanese pregnancy customs concerning before, during, and after labor are very interesting. Though there is a reason why they have a low infant mortality rate despite having a low birth rate. Japan and Europe (France and Switzerland especially) are one of the better places for a women to give birth.

  3. Agapoula April 22, 2014 at 9:19 pm #

    Hey Lovely, that is a great idea. You should go for it! I was not so aware that black women are stigmatized as those things, because there are not many black women here. But if that the case there, this blog is a really great idea.

    PS. Please could you send me an email?

    • Agapoula April 22, 2014 at 9:19 pm #

      This is Embracing your femininity by the way. πŸ™‚

    • lovelyleblanc7 April 22, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

      EmbracingYourFemininity,
      It is so wonderful to hear from you. I sent you an e-mail months ago, but I didn’t get a response.
      I’ll send you one πŸ™‚ It’d be great to hear from you again!

  4. Elspeth April 29, 2014 at 9:12 pm #

    You need to inform me of this stuff, Lovely! Drop me a line or something. You post so infrequently that I forget to check on you except for every couple of weeks.

    Yes! Great idea. I’ll help, I’ll plug it. ask me if you need me to contribute or anything. A great idea!

    • lovelyleblanc7 April 29, 2014 at 9:50 pm #

      Yes, I know I post infrequently (I’m working on that). Thanks so much! Any help would be appreciated. I’ll shoot you an e-mail. πŸ™‚

    • lovelyleblanc7 April 29, 2014 at 9:56 pm #

      I can’t find your e-mail on your page. Is there an e-mail where I can contact you at?

  5. Lady Virtue April 30, 2014 at 5:27 pm #

    Lovely, that sounds like a great idea. I’d certainly be a frequent lurker and perhaps an occasional commenter as well.

  6. Bike Bubba April 30, 2014 at 7:35 pm #

    Go for it. I’m convinced that a lot of the debate over modesty would disappear if we really understood what was beautiful and feminine (or masculine in my case of course). I’m not convinced that too many people are exactly starting with the Scriptures, to put it gently.

    Maybe I’ll borrow your idea, except with a different twist, since I’m male and “pigmentally impaired.” OK if I give you the sincerest form of flattery?

  7. Elspeth May 16, 2014 at 5:15 pm #

    I owe you an apology because I promised to get back to you before now. But I have been thinking about this and I have a couple of things for your consideration.

    Emailing you right now.

    • lovelyleblanc7 May 17, 2014 at 5:38 am #

      It is fine! I completely understand.
      Thanks πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I did it again… | Lovelyleblanc7's Blog - July 19, 2014

    […] that ideaΒ that I had? Well, thanks for all the encouraging comments because the I took it into action. The […]

Leave a Reply

