Redefining Beauty: Sex Diva vs. A True Beauty

12 Mar

Forte E Bello

When I was a little girl I loved the color pink. I painted my finger nails, wore my mom’s high heals and played dress up. My favorite thing in the world was to wear a pretty dress and hear my dad tell me I looked beautiful. I believed him. Eventually I traded in my dolls for a baseball glove and my heals for sneakers and opted to play in the dirt with the boys but there was always a part of me that felt most free when I felt beautiful and feminine and when I didn’t have anyone to impress but the adoring eyes of my father.

Fast forward several years to a young woman in high school trying to figure out what it looks like to be a christian woman under the weight of the lies of our culture, learning the balance between what the church taught as “beauty”…

View original post 1,302 more words

3 Responses to “Redefining Beauty: Sex Diva vs. A True Beauty”

  1. heyitswinter March 13, 2014 at 12:23 am #

    Hi 🙂 can you follow me back ? please 🙂 I’ll be having blog giveaway this summer 😀
    Good day !

  2. Rachel P. March 14, 2014 at 10:37 pm #

    Beauty is of course an important thing to consider when it comes to femininity. Yet in this article, I see she cut off with the rest of that verse, which is very important Peter 3:4 “Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” The beauty and adornment of a woman is a quiet and gentle spirit. Femininity is meant to reflect the gentle, quiet, and nurturing aspect of God’s image. She is meant as a submissive helper, like the Son, who is meek, gentle and submissive to the Father, even to the point of giving up His life.A “loud” woman in this context would be like the 21st century woman, who pushes her own desires to the point of conflict and even overriding/ demasculation of men. (I don’t think demasculation is an actual word, but it serves the purpose of explaining here.) The arrogant sort of woman is disgusting in God’s sight, as is demonstrated in Isaiah 3: 16-26

    “Moreover the Lord says:

    “Because the daughters of Zion are haughty,
    And walk with outstretched necks
    And wanton eyes,
    Walking and mincing as they go,
    Making a jingling with their feet,
    17 Therefore the Lord will strike with a scab
    The crown of the head of the daughters of Zion,
    And the Lord will uncover their secret parts.”
    18 In that day the Lord will take away the finery:
    The jingling anklets, the scarves, and the crescents;
    19 The pendants, the bracelets, and the veils;
    20 The headdresses, the leg ornaments, and the headbands;
    The perfume boxes, the charms,
    21 and the rings;
    The nose jewels,
    22 the festal apparel, and the mantles;
    The outer garments, the purses,
    23 and the mirrors;
    The fine linen, the turbans, and the robes.
    24 And so it shall be:

    Instead of a sweet smell there will be a stench;
    Instead of a sash, a rope;
    Instead of well-set hair, baldness;
    Instead of a rich robe, a girding of sackcloth;
    And branding instead of beauty.
    25 Your men shall fall by the sword,
    And your mighty in the war.
    26 Her gates shall lament and mourn,
    And she being desolate shall sit on the ground.”

    • lovelyleblanc7 March 15, 2014 at 1:29 am #

      I agree. Beauty comes from a gentle and quiet spirit. Very good insight.

Leave a Reply

