Valentines Day and The Single Girl

10 Feb

I wasn’t planning on doing a post tonight or having my post be about Valentines Day, but I felt compelled to post this. 

Image

As some of you, may or may not know, I go to an all women’s college and I hear phrases such as this quite often:

“I need boyfriend, like I need one,”

“I’ve never been asked out on a date”

“I’ve never even had my first kiss!”

And this leads into self pity, and thoughts spiral down into this, as noted by April from Peacefulsinglegirl

       “God better send me a man.

       It’s not fair that I don’t have a boyfriend and “everyone else” does.

       I just want to feel loved by a man.

       I should be getting Valentine’s gifts, too.  What’s wrong with me?

       Maybe I’m not lovable?

       Men hate me.

       I’m worthless. No one cares about me.”

First, let me mention that I am not trying to speak from a self-righteous point of view or that I have never felt these things before, I certainly have, but it is how we react to these emotions that matter. 

Self pity is a form of conceit. We are too focused focusing on ourselves, our hurt, our pain, our loneliness, etc.  

As Christians we are supposed to serve one another and not be absorbed in ourselves. I think Valentines Day (and really, any other day) is great for that and instead of dwelling in your singleness, use this as an opportunity to serve others.      

                                   

” As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace” (1 Peter 4:10)

” So if there is any encouragement in Christ, any comfort from love, any participation in the Spirit, any affection and sympathy, complete my joy by being of the same mind, having the same love, being in full accord and of one mind. Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others. Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus,” (Philippians 2:1-11)

“For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’ ” (Matthew 25:35-41)

So, when ever you feel pity, sad, or lonely, do not dwell on these things but dwell in the Lord and serve others. Be joyful!

“Serve the Lord with gladness! Come into his presence with singing! Know that the Lord, he is God! It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture. Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise!Give thanks to him; bless his name! For the Lord is good;his steadfast love endures forever,and his faithfulness to all generations.” (Psalm 11:2-5)

So, this Valentines Day, show the ones in your life that you appreciate and love them, by writing or sending them a card, baking them some sweets, or any other creative way to show that you are glad to have them in your life! Single ladies, this could be your brother, sister, mother, father, aunt, uncle, friend, etc. whoever it may be! 

A joyful heart is a happy heart and is good medicine! 

3 Responses to “Valentines Day and The Single Girl”

  1. Chris February 10, 2014 at 8:39 am #

    Well, it is an artificial celebration designed to sell cards and make girls cry. Something, like Hallowe’en, that should not exist. In casa chris, there are no women, and the day is ignored.

    You do not need a man. You choose to marry to become a wife, and that is much more than romance… but I ranted on that a couple of days ago and somewhere else.

    • lovelyleblanc7 February 10, 2014 at 9:15 am #

      I agree. The only think we really need is Christ, everything else is all wants.
      Also, would you mind posting a link of where you talked about that subject?
      I would appreciate that very much, thank you.

  2. femininebutnotfeminist February 11, 2014 at 2:56 am #

    You are wise beyond your years, I must say. I wish I understood these things 10 years ago. Could’ve saved myself a lot of anguish back then.

Leave a Reply

