My Dad, The Wise Man

23 Nov

My dad is a very quiet man, definitely not shy though. He will only speak if what he has to say is of value (that is, unless he cracks a corny joke…haha).

My dad picked me up from college last night and we had a few hours to talk in the car and he told me something very important.

“A man, who loves his wife will never hit her, ever. Likewise, women, who are naturally selfish and prefer to take, if in love with a man, will always give. She will give and give and give.”

6 Responses to “My Dad, The Wise Man”

  1. femininebutnotfeminist November 23, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

    Your Dad gave you very wise advice indeed 🙂 If more women would give, give, and give to their husbands at least (if not more) as much as they take, take, and take, I think there would be sooooo many more happy marriages and less frivorces. Giving is not as difficult as people make it sound. When you love a man, you love to give to him. It’s really that simple. Even something as simple as paying him a genuine compliment can go a long way for him.

    • lovelyleblanc7 November 24, 2013 at 3:57 am #

      As a woman, I think this is true. To a man I loved, I would continue to give and give and expect nothing in return. Giving is self sacrificing and can sometimes leave you vulnerable when you give so much…so when a woman gives, not only does she love him, but she trusts him.

      • femininebutnotfeminist November 24, 2013 at 4:49 am #

        True, and love and trust go hand in hand. Or rather, if you don’t trust your man, essentially you don’t love him. (See the classic definition of love… 1 corinthians 13:4-8)

  2. donalgraeme November 24, 2013 at 3:41 am #

    Sounds right from my end as a man. The notion of hitting a woman whom I love is simply alien to me. I suppose I could see myself slapping (albeit lightly) her if she is in hysterics, in order to make her snap to her senses, but that would be only in an extreme emergency.

    • lovelyleblanc7 November 24, 2013 at 3:54 am #

      Thanks for the input donalgraeme! 🙂 I thank God that I have a such a wise father.

      • donalgraeme November 24, 2013 at 4:01 am #

        A good father is a special blessing indeed.

Leave a Reply

