The Damsel in Distress

10 Nov

One thing that really irks me is the feminine blogs that encourage “The Damsel in Distress”. 

I think what is important is to balance strength, intelligence, and independence with humbleness. While I may be an anti-feminist, I am not one for these reasons: I think women are weak or because I do not think men and women are not intrinsically equal. 

A lot of feminine blogs suggest that women decrease in intelligence and encourage weakness in women. I do not support this. 

I think a feminine women can be strong, intelligent, and independent while being feminine. 

Image

I love Chanel Iman and I think she is a good example of a feminine woman who balances these traits.

The only difference is two things:

1) She is humble 

She responds to chivalrous acts with a “thank you,”. She knows she cannot carry the whole world on her shoulders. She respects her man and rests in his protection knowing that it does not do any damage to her intelligence, strength, and independence. She has a silent strength with patience, kindness, firmness, and gentleness. 

She doesn’t have a “know it all attitude”. She is intelligent, but doesn’t have to state her opinion on everything, sometimes just preferring to listen. 

2) She is not selfish

She uses her intelligence to help her husband, who is her partner. They do not work against each other, but for and with each other. Having two brains just puts them ahead of the game. 😉

Her husband knows in case of an emergency and he is absent, he can rely on her to protect their children. 

TheFeminineDarling, explains this a lot better than I can and I suggest you read her post over here:

http://femininedarling.blogspot.com/2013/11/the-importance-of-independence-in.html 

2 Responses to “The Damsel in Distress”

  1. Elspeth November 15, 2013 at 2:02 am #

    I agree with being capable and a proper helpmeet to your husband. No man wants a useless, simpering woman, least of all a strong confident man.

    But I don’t agree with the idea that a man wants a woman who doesn’t need him. I’ve seen marriages like that and the men are not happy.

    I don’t think she is balanced enough in her expression. She has the germination of an idea that is valuable, but is clearly single, LOL.

    • lovelyleblanc7 November 15, 2013 at 2:30 am #

      I agree. Both partners in a marriage want to feel needed. Men, in a different way than women.
      She is a feminist, but calls herself a “non-extremist feminist.” I do think though, that with if read with a filter there are some good things to be said.
      For example, in the beginning of the post, I mentioned that it is OK for a woman to rely on her husband for protection. This may not just be physical, but also financially.
      The main point of that post is that a women who is talented and capable uses her gifts for her family and to work alongside with her husband. There should be no reason why those traits should be characterized as masculine. I think what the author of that post was trying to say was that those characteristics can be balanced with femininity and I agree.
      Sorry for the long response. I hope that clears everything up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

