Finding fun things to do over the summer, if you’re not traveling

1 Aug

I love to travel, especially with family or good friends. I traveled a lot in high school and I think it is important (if you are under aged) to travel with a trusted adult. It can open your mind to different customs and cultures, trying new foods, going shopping, or just sight seeing. I think my favorite part about spending time in Europe (besides my Germany exchange) was visiting all the Chateaus. I love looking and exploring old ancient castles!

But you don’t have to leave the country to experience a lot of these things. I have college to pay for (and my parent’s are not taking out any loans) so, this post is about how you can still find fun places to go around you while saving money. The internet is a great help.  These are some places that I went to over the summer since June. 

The first is the Gaylord Hotel. You don’t have to spend the night (since it is pretty expensive) to have a good time. There are plenty of restaurants and almost like a mini town inside. I went with my family and best friend’s family and we had a great time and took pictures in the back, where they have a pretty Garden. The National Harbor is a great place to walk around, see the waters, try interesting and delicious food and is pretty close to the white house.

 

Behind the hotel they have a very beautiful garden. I'm in the middle, my two good friends beside me.

Behind the hotel they have a very beautiful garden. I’m in the middle, my two good friends beside me.

Last week, I went with my oldest nephew, my older brother, and a good friend to the Baltimore Aquarium. This is a lot less expensive than traveling and a really great way to see new things (you know, if you don’t want to go snorkeling with sharks, haha). They have a 4D movie, a dolphin show, a jelly fish exhibit and so much more.

Me and my friend at the Baltimore Aquarium

Me and my friend at the Baltimore Aquarium

They also had a gift shop and I convinced my brother to try on one of the shark hats! haha

haha

haha

And here is a picture of some fishes.

Is that...Dorothy?!! :O

Is that…Dorothy?!! :O

And of course, there is nothing like relaxing and spending some time at home with your family. 🙂 I had to say good bye to my nephews two days ago as they went back to their home in South Dakota. Gonna miss them…Guess I have to wait until Thanksgiving to see them again.

They are so cute, gonna miss them badly

They are so cute, gonna miss them badly

That is it for now! And yes, yes, I know…Japanese Study Tools Part 2 is coming next! I promise.

 

 

4 Responses to “Finding fun things to do over the summer, if you’re not traveling”

  1. peacegirl2020 August 4, 2013 at 1:35 am #

    Great Ideas. Summer is almost over though so, this gives me ideas for next summer.

    • lovelyleblanc7 August 4, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 True that there are only a few weeks left, but you can still squeeze some fun out of summer!

  2. Elspeth August 28, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

    You are adorable! And so are your nephews.

Leave a Reply

