Feminine Dress

24 Jul

This post is about dressing more feminine and some of my favorite stores to get modest and feminine clothing.

What is dressing feminine and Modest? 

Dressing feminine is wearing skirts, dresses, and blouses. Dressing modest is not only covering up, but also knowing what to wear and when to wear it. It is wearing bright yet simple clothing. Fabrics that are loose, silk, satin, lace, colorful, are also encouraged.

Casual Dresses

One thing that has always disappointed me is that these days dresses are only for formal occasions and are no longer worn casually these days. I love to wear dresses, but I’m sure those of you who share my love of dresses have gotten the question, “Why are you so dressed up?”

Part of dressing modest is dressing appropriate. Sweat pants, workout clothes,etc. are for the gym and inside the house–not outside. Anthropologie and Shabby Apple are great stores to get cute casual dresses. Anthropologie is my favorite store; I like about 85% of their dresses so, I suggest just browsing through their site.

Here are some examples of some feminine casual dresses:

ImageImageImageImageImage

Maxi Dresses & Long Skirts

Soft Surroundings has a great selection of long skirts and maxi dresses. It is so feminine and the fabric is very good.

Here are some examples:

ImageImageImageImageImage

Formal Dresses

There is a time and place for everything and Ann Taylor has a good selection of formal dresses that are modest.

Here are some examples:

ImageImageImage

Blouses 

I have a few friends who prefer to wear pants and I know there are other women out there too who are like that. If you are going to wear pants, I suggest wearing a loose blouse or chiffon/lace top to wear with pants. Yesstyle is great for feminine tops, but their shorts, skirts, and dresses in my opinion, are too short. Still, they have a wide variety of lady like and cute tops. Yesstyle can filter clothing through brand; I would suggest looking for blouses under Tokyo Fashion, I even recall getting a modest dress from them once which is hard to come by.

Here are some examples:

ImageImageImage

Last Note

Today, we live in culture that just wants to have more and more (or maybe that is not culture, but human nature) nonetheless, don’t focus on the acquisition of clothing, but the quality of clothing. Look for clothes that never really go out of fashion, that are classic, modest, and are made out of good material that way it can last you a long time and you don’t have to go shopping every other day. 🙂

That is it for today, tomorrow I will continue part 2 of Japanese Study Tools.

Bye, bye! 😉

12 Responses to “Feminine Dress”

  1. peacegirl2020 July 27, 2013 at 2:49 am #

    How beautifully written, could not have said better myself or done it better.

  2. Anja July 27, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

    I’ve come here from donalgraeme.com where I’ve come across your comment. I think this is an excellent post and Anthropologie and Shabby Apple are two of the sites I get inspiration, too! I would also suggest Ruche and ModCloth. Ruche for blouses, mostly, as their dresses and skirts tend to be too short, and I think most of the tops are synthetic, so I’m not sure about quality – I usually only use their designs as inspiration for having clothes made. ModCloth, on the other hand, has modest skirts and dresses, as well, and the quality is good, too.

    I thank you for writing about this topic. I firmly believe many young women would dress in a more feminine and modest manner if they had the chance, but the trouble is modest, feminine clothing is not advertised as much as immodest clothing.

    • lovelyleblanc7 July 27, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

      Thank you for stopping by 🙂 I have heard of modcloth (I don’t know why I didn’t include the link for it though). I have never heard of Ruche, but I will check it out.
      Thank you so very much! You’re right, since it nearly isn’t advertised as much, we have to start doing what donalgraeme suggested and start complementing modest, feminine clothing when we see it.

    • Butterfly Flower July 28, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

      I firmly believe many young women would dress in a more feminine and modest manner if they had the chance, but the trouble is modest, feminine clothing is not advertised as much as immodest clothing.

      Sometimes I wonder if the lack of modest dress lengths is merely the result of women no-longer sewing their own dresses. I read a lot of vintage magazines and comics, and nearly every other advertisement is for dress pattern catalogs. When I was younger I once thought “Wow, women in the 40’s sure must have enjoyed sewing”. I didn’t realize before shopping malls that’s pretty much the only way women obtained dresses!

      I’m barely 5 feet, so most dresses are a modest length on me (if not so long I trip over the fabric). I have a friend that is 5’10, she has willowy limbs and a long torso. A simple dress that looks appropriate on me will fit her like club-wear! I experience a similar issue when I buy regular sized dresses instead of petite. Since I have a short torso regular sized necklines are much too low for me.

  3. Je Suis Prest July 29, 2013 at 12:23 am #

    I’m also here from Donal Graeme’s blog and just wanted to say I loved this post. I’ve recently been embracing my feminine side, but have had an awful time finding dresses that flatter me. Part of my problem is that I’m 5’9″, so dresses that are modest on other women are somewhat revealing on me. I’ve recently had some good luck at Banana Republic clearance sales so I thought I’d pass that on in case other tall girls are having the same issue. Thank for posting this =).

    • lovelyleblanc7 July 29, 2013 at 5:35 am #

      Thank you Je Suis Priest 🙂 We live in a culture that teaches women to be ashamed of their own femininity and so, I am very happy to hear of your decision. If you have any questions or need help, you can e-mail me at lovelyleblanc7@gmail.
      Also, Dressbarn and Old Navy provide dresses for taller women. I hope this helps 🙂
      Good luck!

    • Anja July 29, 2013 at 6:54 am #

      While I’m shorter than you (5’7”) I have the exact same problem! At one point I got so frustrated that I stopped shopping for clothes at all – everything was either too short, too sheer, too low-cut or simply poor quality – and now have clothes made by a seamstress. It’s more expensive, of course, so I’m slowly learning to sew my own, but I’d rather have fewer clothes and those appropriate and well-made than a stuffed closet of poor quality useless pieces.

      Maybe you could find something with brands that have special ‘tall’ lines, just as there are special ‘petite’ lines? I know such brands exist, but I can’t think of any now…

  4. Johnd506 April 28, 2014 at 11:53 pm #

    Very informative article post.Really looking forward to read more. Fantastic. fkkfbecdcgda

  5. what would you wear? May 26, 2014 at 3:36 am #

    Yesstyle lovers! If you love Yesstyle, you’ll love this site as well:

    http://www.whatwouldyouwear.ca/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Positive Feedback | Donal Graeme - July 27, 2013

    […] Update: Lovelyleblanc7 reminds me that she wrote a post a few days ago which covered Feminine Dress. I would be remiss not to link it. […]

  2. motivationalhierarchy - July 30, 2013

    […] Sunshine Mary, thanks for your post on girly stuff like clothes and gardening! and thank you too, lovelyleblanc for giving us examples of appropriate clothing. […]

Leave a Reply

