Self-evaluation

31 Jan

“The soul of a lazy man desires, and has nothing;
But the soul of the diligent shall be made rich.” 

-Proverbs 13:4

It was time for me to check myself. Like most people, I have dreams and I want to see them happen. I realized how easy it is to get lazy and to slack and look at other people and where they are in life. To be successful, you must work hard.

Truth of the day: You’re not going to get anywhere if you don’t work.

I don’t mean work as sitting in an office all day or even having a career. It has come to my senses that I have been slacking off on Japanese and on other things. I study, but if I want to get where I need to be, I need to study harder. If I want to study abroad in Japan, I can’t just go there and expect all of Japan to speak English and cater to my needs. The world doesn’t work for you or around you, you have to work for yourself. If I want to get accepted into a good school, I can’t just not study and do no homework. I have to study and I have to do my homework. It sounds easy and we hear it all the time, but why is it so hard to live up to it?

Giving into our flesh.

Giving into our flesh equates with procrastination. There are days when I get up and don’t feel like exercising, but I have to, to stay healthy. Or days where I don’t feel like studying Japanese, but I know I should. It’s only until we give into the Spirit that we get things done. We have to work to see things accomplished, we can’t ask anybody do it for us or sit and wait for everything to appear.

And to end everything off on a good and happy note: ” Commit to the LORD whatever you do, and he will establish your plans.” (Proverbs 16:3) 

4 Responses to “Self-evaluation”

  1. jazzloveskeemaan7 March 26, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    There’s a verse in 1 Corinthians that basically says “teach me to do my works happily for You, rather than for people”. I think this is very important for all of us to keep in mind.
    For example, there was a day when my dog crapped and no one else would clean it up. I was about to ignore it and leave it for someone else to worry about, but that verse popped in my head again. I grunted knowing what I needed to do… I cleaned up crap for Jesus!
    It may sound funny, but I actually prayed “God, you know this irritates me. I’m not humbling myself like this for anyone but You. I hope you appreciate this”.

    And, to be honest, I was proud of myself after!
    Though homework can’t compare to crap (well… Actually, it can lol), we all need to do our work HAPPILY for HIM, not just ourselves, our futures or our families. If we do everything out of love, we are doing it for His pleasure, and He will surely bless us.

    Long comment, I know, but this post was worth reading and commenting on 🙂
    ❤ love ya!

    • lovelyleblanc7 March 28, 2012 at 3:10 am #

      It was a good long comment! Thank You! I definitely agree =D

  2. peacegirl2020 August 5, 2013 at 4:50 am #

    I always give myself self-evaluations that’s how I move on with my life. I am due in December for another self-evaluation.

    • lovelyleblanc7 August 5, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

      I don’t schedule them; I just know when I am due for a reality check. I tend to make long-term to do lists.

Leave a Reply

